Donghwasa Temple is located to the south of Daegu Jinsan Palgong Mountain. Its name changed into Donghwasa Temple is because the phoenix trees still bloom in winter here. The temple had suffered from destruction and experienced rebuilding for a few times. Most parts of the existing temple were rebuilt during Joseon Yeongjo Period. The inner constructions include central Daeung-jeon, Bongseo-lu symbolizing phoenix, Cheontae-gak, Yeongsang-jeon and Simgeom-dang, as well as the Tongil Yaksa Buddha statue built in 1992. The Buddha statue is in a pretty huge scale with its feet reaching 17m high, and the statue’s building has implied people’s wish for unification. Besides, there are lots of national cultural relics found in the temple, like Geumdangam 3-floor stone tower (No.248 treasure) and Donghwasa Temple construction rods (No.254 treasure).
Donghwasa Temple is the 9th parish temple of Korean Buddhism Jogyejong, representing Palgong Mountain. It’s located to the south of Palgongsan Mountain 22km northeast away from Daegu downtown area. The temple was built by Geukdal during Silla King Soji 15 years (493) and named as Yugasa Temple at the very beginning. It was winter when Simji Wangsa rebuilt Yugasa Temple in King Heungdeok 7 years (832) and the phoenix trees still bloomed inside the temple, then it was renamed as Donghwasa Temple. There are frondent trees at the entrance welcoming you, and the perennial limpid water converges into the waterfall flowing quietly to leave you the tranquility. The Daeung-jeon was rebuilt in 1727, during when there were another 6 Buddhist temple or amja built including Yeombul-am. There’s a plaque of “Yeongnam Chiyeong Amun” (South Chiyeong Bureaucracy Office) hung on the pavilion of Daeung-jeon. It’s said that it was the headquarter of Donghwasa Temple where Master Samyeong commanded the monk soldiers during Imjin Waeran period. On one hand, the Tongil Yaksa Buddha statue inside the temple with 33m high has condensed the wishes of the people building the statue, it’s the administrator of Korean Buddhism Jogyejong’s 9th parish temple in Daegu Gyeongbuk area on the other hand. There are another 6 Buddhist nunneries like Biro-am, Naeweon-am and Yangjin-am, 6 treasures as well as 7 cultural relics designated by Daegu Gwangyeok City. There were more constructions built after the completion of Tongil Yaksa Buddha statue in 1992. The first building you can see in Donghwasa Temple is Bongseo-lu. The Bongseo-lu means “Pavilion where the Phoenix lives”, symbolizing that phoenix only builds its house in the phoenix tree, echoing Donghwasa Temple’s name of phoenix tree flower with each other. The Bongseo-lu was built with square columns to form the entrance and 5 frontage wood carved pavilions to make the particular construction style. There’s a spacious natural stone in the middle of the pavilion’s ascent ladders symbolizing the Phoenix tail, above which the round stones symbolizing Phoenix’s eggs. You will meet the central palace of Daeung-jeon after passing through the Bongseo-lu. The structure of Daeung-jeon is comprised of 3 frontage rooms and 3 side rooms featuring gable roof. The current construction was rebuilt during Joseon Yeongjo Period after a few times of rebuilding. The wry wood are still the pillars delivering the natural beauty. The inner butsudans are used to worship Shakyamuni Buddha, Amitabha and Yaksa Buddha. Those lifelike Buddhas with the gesture of lowering their heads to read make us think of the Confucian scholars in Joseon Period, and those birds of paradise carved in the ceiling are full of vigor as if they were alive.
Main Cultural Heritages
No. 243 treasure of Maae Buddha statue, No. 244 treasure of stone carving Birojana Buddha in Biro-am, No. 247 treasure of Biro-am 3-floor stone tower, No. 248 treasure of Geumdang-am 3-floor stone tower, No. 254 treasure of construction rods
Local cultural heritages: Daeung-jeon, Geuklak-jeon, Budogun
Local folk custom cultural heritages: Sumaje-jeon, Samyeong-dang Daejang Jinyeong
Old House of Seo Sang-don
Sang-don Seo was a nationalist activist during King Kojong"s rule. Working in 1898 with the Independence Association and the Manmin Association, he worked against Russia"s political interference and worked for political rights. He proposed and began the Foreign Debt Redemption Movement.
Old House of Lee Sang-hwa
The movement to preserve the old home of Sang-hwa Lee culminated with the Military Mutual Aid Association purchasing and donating the building in 2005. Daegu City has reconstructed and completed setting up displays within the home. The house of Sang-ha Lee honors the nationalistic mind that prevailed during the Japanese Colonial Period and will continue to serve as an important educational site.
Daegu-hyanggyo Confucian Academy
King Taejo, who led the Joseon Dynasty, wished to repress the Buddhist-centered policies of the former Goryeo Dynasty and to expand the following of Confucianism, which formed the basis of everyday etiquette. He established "hyanggyo" as schools to teach his people Confucianism as well as literacy and traditional culture. Daegu Hyanggyo was established in 1398, but was closed in 1592 during the Japanese invasion and moved to its current location in 1932. Even to the present day, Daegu Hyanggyo is a site of Confucian education and traditional weddings.
Bullo-dong Ancient Tomb Park
The Bullo-dong is adjacent to Geumho-gang (Geumho River), and the ancient tomb cluster is located in the east hill met by the road from Bullo-dong to Palgong Mountain as well as Gyeongbuk expressway. There are totally 211 ancient tombs in different sizes clustered here. They were unearthed twice in 1938 and 1963, and surveyed aiming at some of the tomb samples to discover lots of remains like gold ware, copper ware, iron weapon and crockery etc. The archaeologists speculated that the bloodlines were unified even though other ancient tombs in Bullo-dong Gubun-gun houses a total of 211 large and small go-bun. It is slightly different from the other gobun districts in Daegu, but is still considered to be of the same type. The time frame for the establishment of the entire gobungun is considered to be made during 5~6th century. It is designated as Historical Artifact No. 262 (designated on 1978.6.23).
Otgol village (Gyeongju Choi's Head House)
The estate of Gyeongju"s Choi family, it offers a glimpse at the lifestyle and architecture of the Joseon era. The Baekbul Old House is designated as Daegu Folk Material N0.1.. Moshil, Bobondang, and Sadang established by Joseon-era scholar, Dong-jip Choi, all contain over 400 years of history.
Myogol Village & Yuksin Ancestral Temple
It’s the ancestral hall inside the temple located in Habin-myeon, Dalseong-gun of Daegu Gwangyeok City, where the spirit tablets of 6 deceased governors in Joseon first ancestor period are worshipped, including Pak Paengnyeon, Seong Sammun, Ha Wiji, I Gae, Yu Seongweon and Yu Eungbu.
Dodongseowon Confucian School
Dodongseowon Confucian School is one of the largest in Korea. It was built in 1568, closed during the Japanese invasion of 1592, and rebuilt in 1605 in its present location. The notable features of Dodong are its mud walls, its "Jungjeong-dang" auditorium, and its 400-year old gingko trees.
AM 10:00 ~ PM 06:00
After naturalization of Du Sachung who had led the reinforcements from Myeong Dynasty to help us during Imjin Waeran period, his offspring built the Momyeong-jae in 1912. Du Sachung settled down in Gyesan-dong area after planning, however, he missed his wife and siblings far away in China so much that he moved to the foot of Choijeong-san (the current Daedeok-san) and named the village as Daemyeong-dong to imply how much he missed his hometown. The origin of Momyeong-jae’s name came from missing his motherland, and the name of Mandong-mun implied that he would never forget his motherland. The past Momyeong-jae was torn down in 1912 and built again with the original wood in front of Du Sachung’s cemetery. It was rebuilt again in 1966 for its too old construction.
After naturalization of Du Sachung who had led the reinforcements from Myeong Dynasty to help us during Imjin Waeran period, his offspring built the Momyeong-jae in 1912. Du Sachung was from Dureung, China with the assumed name of Momyeong. The Imjin Waeran happened in 1592 when Du Sachung led the reinforcements with Jedok I Yeosong of Myeong Dynasty for the terrain reconnaissance so as to fix the suitable battle field for the waterway plan. As the best brain man of I Yeosong, Du Sachung proposed lots of suggestions for military adjustment and fought with Joseon side by side with close negotiation on Joseon military strategies and tactics. He made contributions again when he led the reinforcements with his 2 sons during the Jeongyu Jaeran period, then was naturalized in Joseon after the war. He was granted with the land (which is the current Central Park area) after the naturalization and moved to Gyesan-dong after Gyeongsang-do Gamyeong had been brought into Daegu. He missed his wife and siblings far away in China so much that he moved to the foot of Choijeong-san (the current Daedeok-san) and named the village as Daemyeong-dong to imply how much he missed his hometown. On the 1st day of every month (lunar year), he would put on the robe and worship the King of his country (towards the direction of this motherland). His offspring buried him under the foothill of Hyeongje-bong as per his will. The past Momyeong-jae was torn down in 1912 and built again with the original wood in front of Du Sachung’s cemetery. It was rebuilt again in 1966 for its too old construction. The origin of Momyeong-jae’s name came from missing his motherland, and the name of Mandong-mun implied that he would never forget his motherland. The inscription on the tombstone was engraved again and another Sindo-bi was set up in front of Momyeong-jae. The inscription was built by Samnam navy commander, the 7th generation offspring of General I Sunsin, which implied that the friendship between I Sunsin and Du Sachung during Imjin Waeran period had greatly influenced their offsprings. The Momyeong-jae was built on the flat continent. You will meet the front Momyeong-jae of a huge tile-roof house after entering the main door, and it’s constructed with 4 frontage rooms and 2 side rooms. There are hypocaust rooms on the both sides of the living room, the Toit-gan with half room scale, the frontage middle room (the bedroom across the hall floor) is pavaged with red brick, all of which have formed the solid structure with huge round stanchions. It’s decorated with the front Changbang (the auxiliary materials for connecting the house stanchions, storing flowerpot and square wood etc.) and Janghyeo (the long wood for supporting), perfectly representing the construction style of 20th century.